*** Status Workshop 05.05.2022 - 06.05.2022 ***

  Copyright: © G.Pradel

The first on-site status workshop will be held on 05.05. and 06.05.22 in Aachen. The meeting will take place in the SuperC building of the RWTH. Here, all project participants will come together and present the interim status of their respective projects. In addition, a half-day PhD students' day will be held after the conference to give young scientists the opportunity to network.

Finale Programme:

Thursday, May 05, 2022:

Venue: Ford-Hall, 6th floor of the RWTH SuperC-building, Templergraben 57, 52062 Aachen

11:00 – 11:20 Gabriele Pradel (RWTH Aachen University)


Session 1: The technical platform

Chair: Gabriele Pradel (RWTH Aachen University)

11:20 – 11:40 Julia Maria Post (University Medical Center Mainz – platform 1, Bindila lab)

High resolution mass spectrometry-based strategies for lipid biomarker discovery and quantitative lipidomics from pathogens

11:40 – 12:00 Katherina Psathaki (Center of Cellular Nanoanalytics Osnabrück – platform 2)

The iBiOs imaging platform: State-of-the-art 2D and 3D CLEM for SPP 2225

LUNCH BREAK 12:0013:00

including poster viewing

Session 2: EXIT by: Vacuolar escape and membrane-dependent exit

Chairs: Anja Lührmann (University Hospital Erlangen) & Sujaan Das (Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich)

13:00 – 13:20 Caroline Barisch (University of Osnabrück – Barisch lab)

How vacuolar and cytosolic mycobacteria exploit host lipid droplets and components of the lipid trafficking machinery

13:20 – 13:40 Sylvana Victoria Hüttel (University of Osnabrück – Barisch lab)

How a perturbation in fatty acid homeostasis affects mycobacterial phagosome escape

13:40 – 14:00 Monika Rangole (Research Center Borstel – Gutsmann lab)

Inside out - The role of mycobacterial ESX secretion systems in phagosome escape

14:00 – 14:20 Monica Hagedorn (Jacobs University Bremen)

The ejectosome facilitates non-lytic egress of Mycobacterium marinum from the amoeba Dictyostelium discoideum

14:20 – 14:40 Matthea Scheiner (Humboldt University Berlin – Ingmundson Lab)

Plasmodium egress from the liver infection stage

COFFEE BREAK 14:40 – 15:00

15:00 – 15:20 Sabrina Wamp (Robert Koch-Institute Wernigerode – Flieger lab)

The Legionella pneumophila GDSL hydrolases PlaA, PlaC and PlaD and their role in host cell infection and exit

15:20 – 15:40 Jonathan Neuber (Robert Koch-Institute Wernigerode – Flieger lab)

Function of Legionella pneumophila phospholipases in vacuole and host egress

15:40 – 16:00 Christine Nieves Hernandez (Freie Universität Berlin – Fulde lab)

Using population dynamics and transposon-directed insertion site sequencing (TraDIS) to identify bacterial factors essential for the egress from the neonate epithelial cell

16:00 – 16:20 Nour Diab (RWTH Aachen University – Hornef lab)

Bacterial and host factors governing enterocyte egress of Salmonella


Venue: Lecture Hall H01, CARL building of RWTH Aachen University, Claßenstraße 11, 52072 Aachen

17:00 – 18:00 Melanie Brinkmann (Technical University Braunschweig)

Die Corona-Pandemie: Fluch oder Segen? Lehren aus 2 Jahren Pandemie

Followed by: Meet the speaker

SPP 2225 DINNER 19:30 – 22:00

Venue: Karl`s Wirtshaus, Markt 17, 52062 Aachen

Friday, May 06, 2022:

Venue: Ford-Hall, 6th floor of the RWTH SuperC-building, Templergraben 57, 52062 Aachen

Session 3: EXIT by: Programmed cell death

Chairs: Alyssa Ingmundson (Humboldt University Berlin) & Paul Burda (Centre for Structural Systems Biology Hamburg)

09:00 – 09:20 Lydia Kasper & Theresa Rothe (Hans-Knöll-Institute Jena – Brunke/Hube lab)

Diverse strategies of Candida albicans and Candida glabrata to exit from macrophages

09:20 – 09:40 Florens Lohmann (University Medical Center Freiburg – Henneke lab)

Mycobacteria sequentially interact with macrophage subsets in skin infection

09:40 – 10:00 Jana Scholz (Robert Koch-Institute Berlin – Heuer lab)

Deciphering the role of sphingolipids in bacterial egress

10:00 – 10:20 Xiao Liu (University Tübingen – Weber/Wolz lab)

Regulation of NLRP3 inflammasome by Staphylococcus aureus within macrophages

10:20 – 10:40 Mohamed Balboul (University Hospital Erlangen – Lührmann lab)

Egress mechanisms of Coxiella burnetii

10:40 – 11:00 Moritz Jaedtka (Paul Ehrlich Institute Langen – van Zandbergen/Müller lab)

Cell death dependency of Leishmania exit from infected macrophages

COFFEE BREAK 11:00 – 11:20

Session 4: EXIT by: Host cell lysis

Chairs: Monica Hagedorn (Jacobs University Bremen) & Ger van Zandbergen (Paul Ehrlich Institute Langen)

11:20 – 11:40 Janessa Grech (Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich – Meißner/Das lab)

Two essential apical proteins identified by a splitCas9 phenotypic screen are important at different egress steps in Toxoplasma gondii

11:40 – 12:00 Kim Chi Vo (Humboldt University Berlin – Gupta lab)

Cyclic nucleotide phosphodiesterases in Toxoplasma gondii

12:00 – 12:20 Buyan He (University Hospital Heidelberg – Frischknecht lab)

Understanding MTRAP-mediated formation and egress of Plasmodium by 3D electron microscopy

12:20 – 12:40 Korbinian Niedermüller (CSSB Hamburg – Gilberger/Burda lab )

Identification and characterization of novel factors mediating Plasmodium falciparum egress from the red blood cell

12:40 – 13:00 Juliane Saßmannshausen (RWTH Aachen University – Pradel lab)

A proteomic view on the egress-related vesicles of malaria gametocytes

LUNCH BREAK 13:00 – 14:00

including poster viewing

14:00 – 15:00 General round table discussion of PIs

Starting 14:00 Meeting of the PhD students